Home Country List Of Prime Ministers Of India From 1947 To Till Now

List Of Prime Ministers Of India From 1947 To Till Now

List of prime ministers of India

List of prime ministers of India:- It’s been seventy one years, India is associate lots of freelance nation and has seen variety of personalities as its Prime Minister. The Prime Minister is that the leader of the manager branch of the state. The PM is additionally the Chief authority to President & head of the council of ministers. Pt. Jawahar Lal Nehru was the first Prime Minister of freelance India and now the current Prime Minister is Shri Narendra Modi.

India’s head of state is that the president, whose powers area unit mostly nominal and ceremonial. Effective government power rests with the Council of Ministers, headed by the prime minister, WHO is chosen by the bulk party. This is often a chronologically ordered list of the prime ministers, from the earliest to the foremost recent. List of indian prime minister

list of prime minister of india with photo

Some most asked question related to pm of India are below.

Q. Who is first prime minister of India?

A.  Pt. Jawahar Lal Nehru was the first Prime Minister of India.

Q. Who is the prime minister of India?

A. Shri Narendra Modi is the prime minister of India.

List Of Prime Ministers Of India

  • Jawaharlal Nehru (From1947–64)
  • Gulzarilal Nanda (1964; 1st time)
  • Lal Bahadur Shastri (From1964–66)
  • Gulzarilal Nanda (1966; 2nd time)
  • Indira Gandhi (From1966–77; 1st time)
  • Morarji Desai (From1977–79)
  • Charan Singh (From1979–80)
  • Indira Gandhi (From1980–84; 2nd time)
  • Rajiv Gandhi (From1984–89)
  • V.P. Singh (From1989–90)
  • Chandra Shekhar (From1990–91)
  • P.V. Narasimha Rao (From1991–96)
  • Atal Bihari Vajpayee (From1996; 1st time)
  • H.D. Deve Gowda (From1996–97)
  • Inder K. Gujral (From1997–98)
  • Atal Bihari Vajpayee (From1998–2004; 2nd time)
  • Manmohan Singh (From2004–14)
  • Narendra Modi (2014–2024 )

List of Indian Prime Minister From 1947 To Now

S.No. Name Party (Alliance) Term of Office Appointed by
1. Jawaharlal Nehru 
Indian National Congress (INC) 15-Aug-1947 to
Lord Mountbatten & Rajendra Prasad
2 Gulzarilal Nanda (acting)
Indian National Congress (INC) 27-May-1964 to
Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
3 Lal Bahadur Shastri
Indian National Congress (INC) 09-June-1964 to
Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
4 Gulzarilal Nanda (acting)
Indian National Congress (INC) 11-Jan-1966 to
Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
5 Indira Gandhi
Indian National Congress (INC) 24-Jan-1966 to
V.V. Giri
6 Morarji Desai
Janta Party 24-March-1977 to
B.D. Jatti (acting President)
7 Charan Singh
Indian National Congress (INC) 28-March-1979 to
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
8 Indira Gandhi
Indian National Congress (INC) 14-Jan-1980 to
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
9 Rajiv Gandhi
Indian National Congress (INC) 31-Oct-1984 to
Zail Singh
10 Vishwanath Pratap Singh
Janata Dal (National Front) 02-Dec-1989 to
R. Venkataraman
11 Chandra Shekhar
Samajwadi Janata Party with INC 10-Nov-1990 to
R. Venkataraman
12 Pamulaparti Venkata Narasimha Rao
Indian National Congress (INC) 21-June-1991 to
R. Venkataraman
13 Atal Bihari Vajpayee
Bharatiya Janata Party 16-May-1996 to
Shankar Dayal Sharma
14 Haradanahalli Doddegowda Deve Gowda
Janata Dal (United Front) 1-June-1996 to
Shankar Dayal Sharma
15 Inder Kumar Gujral
Janata Dal (United Front) 21-April-1997 to
Shankar Dayal Sharma
16 Atal Bihari Vajpayee
Bharatiya Janata Party(NDA) 19-March-1998 to
K. R. Narayanan
17 Manmohan Singh 
Indian National Congress(UPA) 22-May-2004 to
A.P.J. Abdul Kalam & Pratibha Patil
18 Narendra Modi
Bharatiya Janata Party(NDA) 26-May-2014 to 2019 Pranab Mukherjee
19 Narendra Modi 
Bharatiya Janata Party(NDA) 24-May-2019 to
Ram Nath Kovind

Related Posts

If you liked this article then please leave us a comment below this will help us to improve more on topic List of prime ministers of India With Name and don’t forget to share it with your friends and family.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here