Home Country States 29 States of India and Their Capitals Names

29 States of India and Their Capitals Names

29 States In India

India is a Country, which implies that here every one of the choices is made by the agents chose by the general population under and inside an arrangement of basic, composed tenets called the “constitution”. The Constitution is the incomparable rule that everyone must follow. It was embraced by the Constituent Assembly on 26 November 1949 and came into compelling on 26 January 1950. 29 States and Capitals of India

The prelude to the Indian Constitution guarantees it to be a Sovereign, Socialist, Secular and Democratic Republic with a parliamentary arrangement of government. India contains 29 States and 7 Union Territories. How many states in India.

Indian States
via- aajakonews

The States Reorganization Act detailed in 1956 was an essential power in rearranging the limits of Indian States along phonetic lines. Afterward, according to a change in the Indian Constitution the three sorts of states, known as Part A, states, Part B states, and Part C states, were corrected to frame a solitary kind of state. Which are the 29 states of India

Section A states allude to previous governors’ areas of British India. Part B states allude to previous regal states and Part C states included both the previous boss officials’ regions and some regal states. In spite of the fact that extra changes have happened in the state limits since 1947, the Act is as yet considered as an undisputed player in giving the present shape and forms to the Indian States.

In November 2000, India increased three new states – Chattisgarh cut out of Madhya Pradesh, Uttaranchal from Uttar Pradesh, and Jharkhand from Bihar.

The Constitution disseminates administrative powers between the Center and the State. The Parliament is bicameral – the lower house is known as the Lok Sabha (House of the People) and the upper house is known as the Rajya Sabha (Council of States). At the state level, a few governing bodies are bicameral and are keep running along the lines of the two places of the national Parliament. List of states in India

Also Here We Provide You The List of 29 States and Capitals of IndiaCheckout the list of How many states in india below.

29 States and Capitals of India

  • Andhra Pradesh – Hyderabad (De jure – 2 June 2024) Amaravati (proposed)
  • Arunachal Pradesh – Itanagar
  • Assam – Dispur
  • Bihar – Patna
  • Chhattisgarh – Raipur
  • Goa – Panaji
  • Gujarat – Gandhinagar
  • Haryana – Chandigarh
  • Himachal Pradesh – Shimla
  • Jammu and Kashmir – Srinagar (summer), Jammu (winter)
  • Jharkhand – Ranchi
  • Karnataka – Bengaluru
  • Kerala – Trivandrum
  • Madhya Pradesh – Bhopal
  • Maharashtra – Mumbai
  • Manipur – Imphal
  • Meghalaya – Shillong
  • Mizoram – Aizawl
  • Nagaland – Kohima
  • Odisha – Bhubaneswar
  • Punjab – Chandigarh
  • Rajasthan – Jaipur
  • Sikkim – Gangtok
  • Tamil Nadu – Chennai
  • Telangana – Hyderabad
  • Tripura – Agartala
  • Uttar Pradesh – Lucknow
  • Uttarakhand – Dehradun
  • West Bengal – Kolkata

7 Union Territories Of India With Their Capitals

  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands – Port Blair
  • Chandigarh – Chandigarh
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli – Silvassa
  • Daman and Diu – Daman
  • Lakshadweep – Kavaratti
  • Delhi – National Capital Territory – Delhi
  • Puducherry (Pondicherry) – Pondicherry

A land favored in all terms, be it geography, characteristic magnificence, populace, religion, culture or dialect, India is having 29 States and 7 Union Territories. Every one of the States and association domains is extraordinary in their own specific manners. Having a phenomenal history and culture, every one of the states and association domains in India never neglects to hypnotize their guests with their unfurling secrets and moxy. States Of India Table Show The States In India You Can Check Them In Given Table Below.

29 States and Capitals of India

State Capital Area Official Languages
Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad (De jure – 2 June 2024) Amaravati (proposed) 160,205 km2 Telugu
Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar 83,743 km2 English
Assam Dispur 78,438 km2 Assamese
Bihar Patna 94,163 km2 Hindi
Chhattisgarh Raipur 135,191 km2 Chhattisgarhi
Goa Panaji 3,702 km2 Konkani
Gujarat Gandhinagar 196,024 km2 Gujarati
Haryana Chandigarh 44,212 km2 Haryanvi
Himachal Pradesh Shimla 55,673 km2 Hindi
Jammu and
Srinagar (summer), Jammu (winter) 222,236 km2 Urdu
Jharkhand Ranchi 79,714 km2 Hindi
Karnataka Bengaluru 191,791 km2 Kannada
Kerala Trivandrum 38,863 km2 Malayalam
Madhya Pradesh Bhopal 308,245 km2 Hindi
Maharashtra Mumbai 307,713 km2 Marathi
Manipur Imphal 22,327 km2 Meiteilon (Manipuri)
Meghalaya Shillong 22,429 km2 English
Mizoram Aizawl 21,081 km2 Mizo
Nagaland Kohima 16,579 km2 English
Odisha Bhubaneswar 155,707 km2 Oriya
Punjab Chandigarh 50,362 km2 Punjabi
Rajasthan Jaipur 342,239 km2 Hindi
Sikkim Gangtok 7,096 km2 Nepali
Tamil Nadu Chennai 130,058 km2 Tamil
Telangana Hyderabad 114,840 km2 Telugu, Urdu
Tripura Agartala 10,486 km2 Bengali
Uttar Pradesh Lucknow 240,928 km2 Hindi
Uttarakhand Dehradun 53,483 km2 Hindi
West Bengal Kolkata 88,752 km2 Bengali
Related Posts

If you liked this article then please leave us a comment below this will help us to improve more on topic 29 States Of India And Their Capitals and don’t forget to share it on social platform with your friends and family.


  1. Hey IndiaStates.in Your Article Is Great it gives all answers.
    You guys written it very nicely and clear table chart.

    • Good we also get an map along with a table chart of state and capitals.
      If you want to know about prime ministers of India no need to go on another page swipe down and will get a link of that to
      Good website

  2. Thank you for posting this awesome article. I’m a long time reader but I’ve never been compelled to leave
    a comment. I subscribed to your blog and shared this on my Twitter.
    Thanks again for a great post!

  3. I am Riley Calor. And this is so informative thing in Social Science .I am a Canadian Citizen.I am Christian.Love from Canada for this site.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here